The Knitted Christmas Star pattern is up

It has now been tested by a couple of people (Thank you so much Eddie and Caitriona!) and apparently it actually makes sense, so here is the pattern for the Christmas Star.

Knitted Christmas star

The star is knit entirely in the round, the centre of each side first, then each points, using stitches from both center pieces. The first one is a bit slower to knit, but once you’ve done a few they’re a lot faster. It now takes me about an hour to make a star from start to finish. In aran weight it gives a 9cm wide star. Using a yarn with stretch, like wool, is much easier than cotton or silk, as Eddie painfully found out.

I even went and set the pattern up with its own Ravelry page, so please upload photos if you do decide to make one as I’d really like to see how yours come out. If you don’t have a Ravelry account, feel free to email me a photo, or leave one in the comments, I’d love to see them.

This is the first ever pattern which I’ve written out, so I’ll welcome any suggestions for improvement, and I look forward to seeing what other knitters make of it.


16 responses to “The Knitted Christmas Star pattern is up

  • Eddie

    They look so beautiful – I can’t wait to try another one – this time in wool.

  • Happy Crafty New Year

    […] once in a while, has been knitting quite a few Christmas decorations. But she couldn’t find a pattern to make a star so she made one up herself. The stars are truely beautiful and I would encourage everyone to have a […]

  • 2011, here I come! « The ways of the whorl

    […] feedback on the tiny little pattern I wrote was so overwhelminghly gratifying that I want to write some more. I’ve got a few […]

  • Elsie Nicholls

    Where is the christmas star pattern – this website does not work well

  • Christina

    Hi, love the look of this star but having trouble downloading the pdf ,tried both options no luck. Shame as I really want to make this.

  • Helene

    Hi,

    Thank you for this pattern. I’ve made the two centre pieces successfully, but am struggling with the first two points. Any chance you could explain this instruction to me:

    “For the first 2 points, the first 4 st of row 1 have already been knitted”

    I can’t see at what point the first 4 stitches have been knitted.

    Many thanks in advance!

    • Cecile

      I hope I’m not too late in replying and that you haven’t given up on the little star.
      Those 4 stitches which I am describing as having been knit already are the last four stitches you knit on each of the centre pieces. So that the decreases are centred on each of the points, the first point starts 4 stitches before the end of the previous row in a way.
      I hope that makes sense, let me know if it doesn’t I could knit one up again and take photos to show you.

  • Sal

    Great pattern. I’m getting stuck on row 3 though:

    Row 3: (k1 M1R k1) x5 = 15st.

    I finish this row with 18st somehow. I’ve started over 5 times but always end up with 18 stitches so I must be doing something wrong. I literally knit the first stitch, then Make 1 by picking up the lower stitch from behind, then knit 1 into the back of the made stitch. Should I then be sliding both the knitted and the made stitch off the kneedle?

    Any tips would be appreciated.

    • Cecile

      I think the problem here is with the M1R.

      So, after knitting the first stitch (k1),
      you lift the stitch below the next stitch (the bump at the back of the base of the next stitch) and knit into it as you would a normal stitch, keeping the stich you created on the needle but sliding the one you lifted and knitted into off the needle), that was the M1R,
      then knit the next stitch, which is the one above the one you lifted earlier (k1)
      Repeat the whole process

      Let me know if that’s still not clear enough, I hope after this first hurdle the rest of the star gets easier
      Happy knitting!

      Cecile

  • Helene

    Hi,

    Thanks so much for replying. It does help, but I’m still having difficulty figuring out which stitches to pick up on each centre piece before knitting the first two points. If you do get a chance to make another and take pictures, that would be absolutely fantastic! I hate giving up on a project, specially when it’s a nice one like this!

  • Sal

    Hi Cecile,

    Big thanks!! Yep, it was the M1R that I was doing wrong, I’m fairly new to knitting and thought I’d give myself a challenge. I’m onto my second point now with no hiccups. What a great pattern, thank you for sharing. My tree will look extra Christmassy this year!

  • gwensteege

    Lovely! Can’t wait to knit it this weekend!

  • dee

    This is gorgeous but I am struggling a bit with the pattern. I have the 2 centre pieces but can’t quite figure how i start the points, 1 piece is on yarn or only 40 stitches are currently on the needles. Should they join up? do you have any photos?
    thanks!

Leave a comment