The joys of spinning

I’ve been a knitter for almost seven years now, and what started off as a mild interest spurred on by a very thoughtful Christmas present from a friend, has since evolved into a full-blown obsession.

Spinning took me just as much by surprise. Despite saying I didn’t want to give up any of my knitting time to learn to spin, and had too many hobbies I wasn’t managing to spend enough time on already, I somehow fell into spinning. Six months ago, I was shown how to card wool and handed a bit of fluff and pointed towards a wheel, and from that moment on, it was only a matter of time before I was totally hooked.

Because I didn’t have either the money or the space for a spinning wheel, a friend suggested I tried the spindle instead. The simplicity of the spindle immediately appealed, and soon I had a whole collection of CD spindles. Over at Historic Crafts, Eddie took notes of how I made them and posted a lovely how-to, so that anyone interested in spinning could give it a try easily. This is an integral part of a larger plan to pass on the addiction on a grand scale… world domination for spinners being my ultimate goal!

The CD spindles spun really well, but were a bit too big for me to carry my new-found obsession around in my handbag at all times. So I started wondering what else I could use to make spindles. Since then I’ve gone on making lots of spindles, mostly top whorls, such as the one pictured in the banner. I’ve learnt to cast resin so I could make more whorls, and am having a lot of fun with that.

Spin/Ply drop spindle made with resin

You can have a look at my spindle gallery page to see more of those.

I also bought a couple of spindles in the past six months, both from IST Crafts, in beautiful woods. A tiny Turkish I named Grace, and a Russian spindle I call Annia, which I’m sure will both extensively feature in my posts.

I’m hoping to take up woodturning in January to try my hands at making some more of my own.

How about you? How did you learn to spin and where has this taken you?

 

Resin spindle 'Shadow of a Tree'

Leave a Reply

